Council



Minutes of the special meeting held on Monday 29 March 2010 at 6.00 pm

Present:-

Councillor Gregory Szanto (Mayor) in the Chair

Councillors Margaret Bannister, Colin Belsey, David Elkin, Barbara Goodall, Andrew Goodwin, Nigel Goodyear, Carolyn Heaps, Sandie Howlett, Rebecca Madell, Graham Marsden, Gill Mattock, Mary Pooley, Daniel Purchese, Margaret Salsbury, Mike Thompson, David Tutt, Steve Wallis and Olive Woodall.

- **70. Minutes.** The minutes of the meeting held on 24 February 2010 were presented and the Mayor was authorised to sign them as a correct record.
- **71. Apologies for Absence.** Apologies for absence were reported from Councillors Bloom, Harris, Hough, Miah, Morris, Stanley, Taylor and Tester.
- 72. Marine Joe Townsend Freedom of the Borough of Eastbourne Pursuant to Section 249(5) of the Local Government Act 1972: The following motion was proposed by Councillor Colin Belsey and seconded by Councillor Andrew Goodwin:-

That, in accordance with Section 249(5) of the Local Government Act 1972, Marine Joseph Townsend be admitted as an Honorary Freeman of the Borough of Eastbourne in recognition of his courage in the face of his injuries received whilst on active duty for his country and for the example he has shown in adversity to young people within the Borough of Eastbourne and throughout the nation.

In addition to Councillors Belsey and Goodwin, other speeches in support of the above motion were made by the following:

- Councillor David Tutt, Leader of Eastbourne Borough Council
- Nigel Waterson MP, Member of Parliament for Eastbourne
- Councillor David Elkin, Leader of the Opposition
- Mr Stephen Lloyd, Liberal Democrat Parliamentary Spokesperson

Resolved: That this motion be approved.

The Mayor presented Joe Townsend with the Freeman of the Borough scroll and badge. Mr Townsend thanked the Council for this honour. He also thanked family and friends for the support he had received and the staff at Selly Oak hospital for the medical care he had received.

The meeting closed at 6.40pm

Councillor Gregory John Michael Szanto, Mayor, Chairman

(pf:council\10.03.29\mins)